Pet peeve?

In a world full of idiosyncrasies, everyone has at least one thing that (rationally or irrationally) drives him or her up the wall.

(Which wall, you ask? The nearest one, of course…)

To make things easier, I’ll start things out: One thing that really frosts my cookies is when someone uses the word “ironic” improperly. For example, “I went to the store, and ran into my ex-boyfriend there! Isn’t it ironic?”

No, dear, it isn’t ironic. It is certainly a coincidence and may be unfortunate, but it is not in the least bit ironic. Ironic is when, in 1974, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission had to recall 80,000 of its own lapel buttons promoting “toy safety” because the buttons had sharp edges, used lead paint, and had small clips that could be broken off and subsequently swallowed.

Now that’s ironic.

In any case, before I digress too much further, here is my Sunday question for you, the answers to which will hopefully be far more entertaining than my own writing:

What is your most irrational pet peeve?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Pet peeve?

  1. I’m into pet peeves and pet hates too – big time! If you’re interested, you might check out my cartoon blog at http://www.cartoonsbysheila.wordpress.com
    Cheers, Sheila

Leave a Reply

