Travelogue: Day 3 of 11

The snazzy little pub at the Castle Hotel

Today is our second day in Dublin, and depending how things went the night before, I’m guessing that we might spend a fair bit of time in bed. (Somewhere, I hear my sister gasping and asking if I was irresponsible. My prospective answer? Certainly not!)

To be honest, I’m not sure what we’ll do today, but a friend of mine has suggested that we visit Kilmainham Gaol. For those of you who spell properly, gaol = jail. (I know, I know… it’s no wonder we rebelled…)

Apparently this site is very historical and they imprisoned a number of freedom fighters there in connection with the uprisings of the mid-to-late twentieth century. I like big buildings, so… why not?

For the rest of the day, I’m going to try to avoid snarky comments about British spelling. I’d hate to end up in (g/j)a(o/i)l myself…

Kilmainham Gaol: It's everywhere you don't want to be

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

