Adequate leave

In the negotiation workshop in which I’m currently enrolled, two of the things we emphasize are flexibility (a willingness to be open to change) and pragmatism (a willingness to recognize when something isn’t working). It’s good that we emphasize these qualities, because these are both things with which I’ve often struggled. And in the spirit of both of these qualities, I must confess that at the moment I’m entirely exhausted from overwork, lack of sleep, and perhaps even malnutrition (after all, you can only run on pizza-lunch fly-bys for so long…)

In short, I need a break.

I need some time to recharge my mental and physical batteries, so I’m going to give myself a long weekend, complete with writing break. If you knew what a workaholic I was, you would know that this is going to be much harder on me than it is on you, but it’s something I need to do. Everyone needs a little rejuvenation sometimes.

Perhaps you can join me and engage in something rejuvenating, too. Find a way to make yourself peaceful and at ease this weekend, and go for it! You’ll be glad you did, and we’ll all return on Monday with spring in our step and a song in our hearts. (Or, at the very least, with fewer circles under our eyes.)

I’ll see you then! (And some of you before…)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

